Driving under the influence (DUI) comes with a variety of serious consequences. You will need to pay for DUI lawyer in Las Vegas, ruin your record, or get jailed. The worst thing that could happen is getting somebody killed. According to the Fatal Analysis Reporting System of the Office of Traffic Safety, there were 318 deaths due to drunk driving in Nevada in 2015. Additionally, a survey by SmartAsset revealed that Nevada is the 17th worst state when it comes to DUI cases.
DUI Laws You Should Know About
- The Illegal Per Se Law – You are already committing an offense once you drink and drive. The BAC limits serve as guides; you can still be cited even if you have a lower BAC level.
- The Implied Consent Law – Driving while intoxicated “implies” that you consent to have your BAC tested. The law enforcer has the right to use reasonable force or arrest you immediately if you resist taking the test.
- The Open Container Law – Driving with opened alcoholic beverage inside your car could get you cited. However, this law does not apply to motor homes or passenger areas of public utility vehicles.
Legal Consequences of DUI in Las Vegas
Being cited for DUI is a problem you can’t solve on your own. You need a Las Vegas DUI lawyer to reduce your sentence or represent you in court if you want to dispute the charge. These are the consequences you may face with a DUI charge:
- Refusing to take the BAC test could get your driver’s license suspended for at least a year.
- For those cited for a DUI offense for the first time, the administrative penalties include:
- Revocation of license for 90 days.
- Payment of Victims Compensation Civil Penalty of $35.
- Installation and monthly monitoring of Ignition Interlock Device.
- Payment of Driver’s License Fee of $42.25.
- Payment of Testing Fee of $26.
- Payment of Reinstatement Fee of $121.
- 3 Years of SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance
Criminal Penalties Once Convicted of DUI
If you are convicted of DUI and a chemical test was done on your arrest, you will pay $60 for the testing fee. Apart from that, you could face the following consequences:
- First DUI
- 96 hours of community service or jail time of 2 days to 6 months
- Fine of $400 to $1,000
- Obligatory DUI school attendance
- Attendance of a substance-abuse rehabilitation program
- Revocation of driver’s license
- Second DUI Conviction within 7 Years
- Jail time or home arrest of 10 days to 6 months
- Fine of $750 to $1,000
- Mandatory community service of 100 to 200 hours
- Suspension of car registration
- 1 year of clinical supervision or attendance of substance-abuse rehabilitation clinic
- Revocation of driver’s license for 1 year
- Third (or more) DUI conviction within 7 years:
- Jail time of 1 to 6 years
- Fine of $2,000 to $5,000
- Vehicle registration suspension
- Revocation of driver’s license for 3 years